Iganna Local Council Development Area was officially created on 16th December, 2016, though the news of creation of the Local Council Development Areas in Oyo State filtered the air waves on 23rd August, 2016. The Council was carved out of Old Iwajowa Local Government as one of the Thirty-Five Local Council Development Areas established by His Excellency, Senator Abiola Ajimobi’s administration. The creation was consequent upon the adoption by the House of Assembly for implementation of the existing Gazette N0.23 Vol. 27 of 13th August, 2002 that created Local Council Development Areas in Oyo State.

The Local Council Development Area headquarters is located in the heart of Iganna town and the Secretariat is situated along Iganna – Ilero Road, Oke-Afin, Iganna.

The seat of the Local Council Development Area – Iganna has a distance of about 128.8 km to Ibadan the State Capital. It has a population of about Eighty-Four Thousand citizens (84,000.00).

Iganna Local Council Development Area was bounded in the North, by Ilero (Iwa Local Council Development), in the East by Kajola Local Government, Okeho,it shares boundary with Iwere-Ile (Iwajowa Local Government) in the West and in the South by Igangan, Ibarapa North Local Government.

The inhabitants of the LCDA are predominantly Yorubas, living in their traditional settlements. Other ethnic nationalities like Hausa, Fulani, Egede, Ohori and Foreigners also reside within the Community.